By-Laws of the Division of Spatially Resolved Magnetic Resonance


This association is constituted as a Division of the Groupement Ampère. The Groupement Ampère is corporately organized in Switzerland and is domiciled in Zürich.


The purpose of the Division is to advance the subject of Spatially Resolved Magnetic Resonance. This is done:

a) By means of International Conferences organized biennially anywhere in the world.
b) By means of Symposia, Summer Schools and Workshops organized anywhere in the world.
c) By such other means as the Division shall decide.


Members of the Division shall be members of the Groupement Ampère and any members of the Groupement Ampère may join the Division. Members of the Division shall pay such annual subscription as the Division Committee shall decide. This subscription is to be paid with the annual subscription to the Groupement Ampère.


The organs of the Division are:

a) The General Meeting
b) The Division Committee
c) The Executive Committee (Division Office)
d) The Secretariat

General Meeting

1) The General Meeting has final authority in the Division.
2) The General Meeting will take place biennially at the International Conferences of the Division.

Division Committee

The Division Committee shall consist of 20 to 30 persons elected by the general meeting having due regard to geographical distribution and subject distribution. They shall serve for two years and be reelectable to serve for a maximum of six consecutive years.

The Division Committee is responsible for carrying out the business of the Division including organizing meetings of the Division. They shall receive reports from the Executive Committee on its business.

Executive Committee (Division Office)

The Executive Committee shall be elected by the Division Committee and shall consist of a Chair, Vice-Chair, Immediate Past Chair, Secretary General, Vice Secretary General, Treasurer, and the organizers of the last (or current) and the next Division International Conferences. The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be elected for four years and shall not be eligible for reelection. The Secretary General, Vice Secretary, and Treasurer shall be elected for four years and shall be eligible for reelection for one further period of four years.

The Executive Committee shall meet at least once per year.


The secretariat consists of the Chair and the Secretary General. It is responsible for management, administration, and finances of the Division.

The Division Committee shall elect a representative to the Committee of the Groupement Ampère. This representative will normally be the Chair or the Secretary General of the Division. This representative will give reports to the Ampère Committee of the main activities of the Division.

Awards and Competitions

Travel Awards

A number of awards will be given to students and young investigators that indicate need to attend the ICMRM. This award can be in the form of a waived or reduced conference registration fee. The finalists in the PC Young Investigator session should be recipients of this award.

Paul Callaghan Young Investigator Award

In recognition of the merits of Sir Paul Terence Callaghan, young investigators, i.e. students or postdocs up to 2 years after receiving their PhD, are eligible to contribute papers for the Young Investigator competition. A jury selected by the conference organisers will select up to five to present their work in a plenary session. The best presentation receives the “Paul-Callaghan-Award” during the conference banquet. No ties for first place allowed.

Erwin Hahn Lecturer Award

In recognition of the merits of Erwin Louis Hahn, before each conference the organizers will solicit brief nominations from the Executive and Division Committee. The Executive committee will choose the recipient of the Erwin Hahn Lecturer Award from these nominations. It will be given to a highly visible researcher who has provided a lifetime of contributions to the SRMR community. The recipient will be asked to deliver a keynote speech at the ICMRM conference.


The Division will be financed by annual subscriptions of its members, by grants and donations, and by carry-over funds from meetings of the Division.

Modification of by-laws and dissolution

1.) The by-laws of the Division may be amended at the General Meetings and require a majority of two thirds of the members attending and voting. Proposals for amendment must be communicated to the Secretary General at least three months before the next General Meeting.

2.) The Division may be dissolved on a proposition by the Division Committee made to the General Meeting and approved by two thirds of the members attending and voting.

3.) In the case of dissolution of the Division, the remaining property of the Division shall be transferred to the Groupement Ampère.

Approved by the Division Committee on Sep. 30, 1995 in Würzburg
Amended by the General Meeting on Aug. 31, 2023 in Singapore